ServiceNow: SOAP Journal

Integration using Web Services

Getting Distinct Records

GarrettNow

Every once in a while, I run into a situation where I need a list of distinct values from a table. The latest situation I ran into for this, I needed to get a distinct list of every user that had an open Project Task.

The easiest way to do this of course is to go to a list view, and sort by the field you care about. For example:

https://demo013.service-now.com/nav_to.do?uri=pm_project_task_list.do?sysparm_query=active=trueGROUPBYassigned_to

Project Tasks by User Grouping Project Tasks by Assigned To

 

For my purposes though, I wanted to send out scripted email notifications to everyone that had an open task. As a result, I needed this information available to me through scripting, which caused me to look for a different solution.

The answer came in the form of “GlideAggregate”. This is a Service-Now custom JavaScript object that functions very similar to the popular “GlideRecord”, with a few key differences.

GlideAggregate is built to…

View original post 159 more words

Leave a Reply

